Rachel Heck, Drew Miller, MUS Win TSSAA State Championships

Rachel Heck and Drew Miller continued the recent string of success by SCR golfers at the TSSAA state tournaments with individual state championships, and the MUS Owls won the team championship represented by Wyatt Berry and Walker Crosby.


Rachel Heck Wins Back-to-Back State Championships

Similar to her performance at the U.S. Women's Open and multiple other high-profile events over the summer, consistency was key in Rachel Heck's journey to her second consecutive DII-AA championship. Rachel, a sophomore at St. Agnes who has committed to Stanford University, shot an even-par 72 with 16 pars in the opening round.

She continued her consistent approach with eight pars and a birdie to start Round 2. Upon making the turn, she caught fire with five birdies over the next seven holes to take a commanding lead. She finished the 36-hole tournament with only one bogey.

Drew Miller Captures First State Championship

Drew Miller, a sophomore at Briarcrest who has committed to Ole Miss, entered the final day of competition tied for the lead after an opening round 68. Despite a double bogey on his scorecard in the early part of the final round, Drew remained focused and responded with back-to-back birdies to push his lead to two strokes.

While others started to fall behind, Drew strung together pars to give himself a four-shot cushion with four holes to go. He finished his round with two birdies and two bogeys to seal the DII-AA title.

Susan Morris, Winston Margaritis, Davis Irving Finish Top 3 in Respective Classes

Susan Morris, a senior at Hutchison, capped her high school career with a runner-up finish to Rachel in the DII-AA competition. Susan battled back from some early trouble to shoot 76-73.

Winston Margaritis and Davis Irving, both seniors at St. George's, represented the previous two DII-A state champions. While Winston actually improved his score from last season's first-place finish, he came in second place behind a stellar performance from a Nashville competitor.

Davis shot 72-72 to finish in third place at even-par.

Wyatt Berry, Walker Crosby Lead MUS to DII-AA Team Title

The duo of Wyatt Berry and Walker Crosby helped the MUS Owls to its second consecutive team state championship. Walker shared the opening-round lead with Drew Miller before shooting 79 on the final day.

Wyatt bounced back from an opening-round 81 with a four-under par 68, the best score of the day in DII-AA play.

Another SCR member, Call Ford, was an alternate for the state champion Owls.

Marshall Daniel Ties for Fifth in DII-AA

Competing as an individual representing CBHS, Marshall Daniel shot rounds of 74 and 72 to tie for fifth place.

Other SCR Competitors' Results

In addition to the players mentioned above, Russell Williamson (T17) and Blake Templeton (28) helped Briarcrest in the hunt for a state championship before ultimately finishing in second place. Miles Farnsworth also played a role in the Saints advancing to the state tournament and was an alternate.

Jack Billups, representing McCallie, tied for 23rd place.

Previous TSSAA State Champions

  • 2017 - Rachel Heck, Drew Miller
  • 2016 - Rachel Heck, Winston Margaritis, Goodman Rudolph
  • 2015 - Abby Heck, Davis Irving
  • 2014 - Abby Heck
  • 2013 - Grant Hirschman
  • 2012 - Grant Hirschman
  • 2010 - Grant Hirschman
  • 2008 - Zach Olsen
  • 2007 - Will Pearson
  • 2004 - Bobby Hudson

Previous TSSAA State Runner-Ups

  • 2017 - Winston Margaritis, Susan Morris
  • 2016 - Abby Heck
  • 2015 - Rachel Heck
  • 2014 - Goodman Rudolph (tied for 1st; lost playoff)
  • 2010 - Jennifer Kim (tied for 1st; lost playoff); Zach Olsen
  • 2009 - Zach Olsen, Will Pearson
  • 2005 - Jonathan Fly